Communique of the Ministerial Special Session on Sudan, 20 April 2023


1. The undersigned Institutions/Organizations and concerned States, convened on 20 April 2023 in an urgent special ministerial meeting called by H.E. Moussa Faki Mahamat, the Chairperson of the African Union (AU) Commission, following the escalating violence in Sudan, while expressing solidarity with the people of Sudan.


2. Welcome the pronouncements of and efforts deployed by various international organizations and institutions, as well as concerned States, aimed at resolving and de-escalating the situation in Sudan since the eruption of violence on 15 April 2023 between the Sudanese Armed Forces (SAF) and the Rapid Support Forces (RSF).
3. Express concern over the significant escalation of violence across the country which has led to the death of over 300 civilians, thousands injured, and untold destruction of property and vital installations across the country, particularly the health and vital life infrastructure that has aggravated the already precarious humanitarian situation and threatens to further destabilize the region.
4. Strongly condemn the violence and call for an immediate and unconditional humanitarian ceasefire for a week starting from midnight East African Time on 20 April 2023, to allow for the observance of Eid al-Fitr, and pave the way for a more permanent ceasefire.
5. Demand that the belligerents, namely the SAF and the RSF, establish humanitarian corridors and allow for unhindered humanitarian access and evacuation of injured civilians; address urgently the rehabilitation of critical basic infrastructure, in particular, water and electricity utilities and ensure access by the civilian population to these services; respect the safety of diplomatic and humanitarian personnel; and also ensure the re-opening of all modes of transport, in particular the Khartoum International Airport.
6. Call for the immediate resumption of the political process, through dialogue and negotiations, towards the establishment of an inclusive, democratic transitional civilian-led government.
7. Recognizing that the deliberate targeting of civilians constitutes a serious violation of International Humanitarian Law and Human Rights Law, therefore call on the SAF and RSF to fulfill their international legal obligations.
8. Strongly reject any form of external interference which will further complicate the situation on the ground.
9. Commit to coordinate, collaborate and harmonize their respective initiatives to resolve the conflict, stabilize the situation and silence the guns in Sudan.
10. Agree, in this regard, under the leadership of the Chairperson of the AU Commission, request the Trilateral Mechanism in coordination with the League of Arab States, the European Union, the Troika and bilateral actors, to immediately engage the leadership of the SAF and the RSF, as well as other key stakeholders, to ensure the implementation of this Communiqué, including by developing an urgent plan for de-escalation. In this regard, request the belligerents to designate interlocutors to work with the Mechanism, to monitor and verify the humanitarian ceasefire, and to further elaborate permanent ceasefire arrangements including the withdrawal of forces from urban areas.
11. Urge all regional and international actors able to do so to leverage their influence on the parties to de-escalate the situation and end hostilities.

Adopted today, 20 April 2023, in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.
Comoros: Current Chair of the African Union
Regional and International Organizations
– United Nations General Secretariat
– IGAD Executive Secretariat
– General Secretariat of the League of Arab States
President of the European Commission

Neighbouring Countries+2
– Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
– Permanent Mission of the Central African Republic
– Permanent Mission of the Republic of Chad
– Permanent Mission of the State of Libya
– Permanent Mission of the Arab Republic of Egypt
– Permanent Mission of the Republic of South Sudan
– Permanent Mission of the Republic of Eritrea
– Permanent Mission of the Republic of Kenya
– Permanent Mission of the Republic of Djibouti
UNSC A3 Members
– Permanent Mission of the Gabonese Republic
– Permanent Mission of the Republic of Ghana
– Permanent Mission of the Republic of Mozambique
UNSC P5 Members
– Permanent Mission of the People’s Republic of China
– Permanent Mission of the United States of America
– Permanent Mission of the French Republic
– Permanent Mission of Great Britain
– Permanent Mission of the Russian Federation
Gulf Countries
– Saudi Arabia
– United Arab Emirates
– State of Qatar