Ghana president Nana Akufo-Addo sworn in for a second term

President-elect Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has been sworn into office for a second four-year term as President of the Republic of Ghana.

President Akufo-Addo was given the mandate to govern Ghana for the next four years from January 7, 2021, to January 6, 2025, following the declaration by the Electoral Commission (EC) that he was the winner of the presidential election held on Monday, December 7, 2020.

He was sworn-in on Thursday, January 7, 2021, at the forecourt of Parliament House in Accra by Chief Justice Kwasi Anin-Yeboah.

Prior to that, Justice Anin-Yeboah had sworn-in Vice President Dr Mahamudu Bawumia.

Mr Akufo-Addo is to serve as President until January 7, 2025.

He first became President on January 7, 2017 after landslide victory in the 2016 polls.

Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin, has congratulated both Mr Akufo-Addo and Dr Bawumia, on their assumption of office as President and Vice President for the second term.

Nana Akufo-Addo who contested the election on the ticket of the New Patriotic Party (NPP won with 6,730,413 votes which represents 51.295 percent of the total valid votes cast.

His closest competitor, John Dramani Mahama from the National Democratic Congress (NDC) got 6,214,889 votes representing 47.366 per cent.

The total valid votes cast was 13, 434,574 representing 79 per cent of the total registered voters.

Blog Attachment